MANAGEMENT AND ORGANISATION OF RHINESSA

RHINESSA is organized with a research director supported by a coordinating centre and a vice director; 10 study centres from 7 countries (Denmark, Estonia, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, Spain and Australia); a Steering Committee; an advisory board; working groups and protocol development groups.

Research Director: Cecilie Svanes

Vice Director: Vivi Schlünssen

Steering Committee (SC):

The steering committee has the responsibility to fulfil the long-term goals of RHINESSA. The SC is responsible for protocol development, funding and quality control of the data collection. The SC further has the highest responsibility for data analysis and dissemination of results, with a primary responsibility to quickly publish main results that are essential to further publications, and to publish main outcomes and issues that are not covered by working groups. Scientific and important managerial decisions will be made by this group.

The steering committee consists of the research director, the vice director, the principal investigators (PIs) from each study centre (or the Vice PIs who will represent the centres in the absence of the PI), and experts from particular fields that are not otherwise covered: Research director Cecilie Svanes; vice director Vivi Schlünssen; centre PIs Randi J Bertelsen (Bergen, Norway), Lennart Bråbäck (Umeå, Sweden), Shyamali Dharmage (Melbourne, Australia), Bryndis Benediktsdottir (Reykjavik, Iceland), Mathias Holm (Göteborg, Sweden), Christer Janson (Uppsala, Sweden), Rain Jögi (Tartu, Estonia), Jose Louis Maldonado (Huelva, Spain), Jesus Moratalla (Albacete, Spain), Vivi Schlünssen (Aarhus, Denmark); selected experts: Thorarinn Gislason (sleep), Julia Dratva (children's and adolescent health), Bertil Forsberg (air pollution), Ane Johannessen (data management), Dan Norbäck (indoor environment), Francisco Gómez Real (women's health), Torben Sigsgaard (biodiversity, farm environment), Kjell Torén (occupation and disability).

Scientific Advisory Board:

The scientific advisory board includes world-leading experts in relevant fields. Currents members (2013): Jan Vilhelm Bakke (the Norwegian Labour inspection), Karin Lødrup Carlsen (paediatric asthma, children cohorts), Simone Accordini (statistical modelling), Susanne Krauss-Etschmann (transgenerational animal models), Joachim Heinrich (respiratory epidemiology, children cohorts), John Holloway (epigenomics), William Horsnell (immunology, mouse models), Deborah Jarvis (PI ECRHS, respiratory epidemiology), Francine Kaufmann (respiratory epidemiology, genetic epidemiology), Torvid Kiserud (foetal medicine), Stephanie London (genetic epidemiology), Benjamin Marsland (airways microbiome), Juha Pekkanen (respiratory epidemiology), Jordi Sunyer (respiratory epidemiology, children cohorts).

Coordinating centre:

A coordinating centre in Bergen is responsible for project administration, coordinating field worker training and quality control, coordinating protocol implementation, data management, study website, and establishment of biobanks. The coordinating centre is also responsible for organising meetings.

Working groups (WG):

Subject matter working groups (and writing groups) are responsible for data analyses and publications within their field. In case of doubt of where an analysis belongs, or of overlap between groups, this is to be discussed in the SC. The groups are established by the SC to initiate and coordinate initiatives in specific research areas. A chair/leader (evt. a co-chair) is appointed for each Working Group. Working Groups report progress and research results to the SC. SC members can also be part of relevant Working Groups, and to facilitate coordination of analyses, it is important that WG chairs are members of WG with related subjects.

Protocol Development Groups:

PDGs are temporary ad hoc groups established by the SC to pursue time limited protocol development tasks. A chair/leader is appointed for each PDG. PDG chairs report progress and suggested protocols to the SC, and circulate draft protocols to the SC for feedback.

Protocol development groups: Area (chair)(status)

- Biobank (Randi Bertelsen)(2014 ongoing)
- Children offspring (Julia Dratva) (2012 ongoing)
- Grandparents' registry study (Lennart Bråbäck)(2011 ongoing)
- Adolescent offspring (Julia Dratva) (2011-2014)
- Women's study (Francisco Gómez Real) (2011-2013)
- Adult offspring interview (Cecilie Svanes) (2011-2013)
- Adult offspring clinical (Shyamali Dharmage) (2011-2013)
- Adult offspring postal/ web-based (Cecilie Svanes, Christer Jansson) (2011- 2013)